Until I Left

Until I left 
I didn’t know who I was 

I didn’t know my own beauty 

I didn’t know my own strength 

I didn’t know what empowerment meant 
Until I left 
I didn’t know the feeling of freedom 

I didn’t know the taste of passion 

I didn’t know the smell of abundance 

I didn’t know my own truth 
Until I left 
I didn’t know I could 

I didn’t know why or how I could 

I didn’t know I was love
Until I left 
I didn’t know trust

I didn’t know faith 

I didn’t know patience 

I didn’t know fresh air 
Until I left 
Now I stand tall 

Now I covet each & every line, cell of my body 

Now I treasure each drop of tear shed, each exquisite sound of laughter I utter 

Now I appreciate the sunshine on my skin 

Now I soak up each raindrop 

Now I dance with immense complete abandon with each emotion that arises 

Now I am friends with me
After I left 
Right now I am so amazed, blessed, grateful, and treasured for all that I’ve been gifted, for all life’s precious lessons, and for the journey that has carved my way to Now.
I survived 

Now I thrive 
Because I left

Leave a Reply

